You are here

GREEK 102 A: Introductory Greek

Meeting Time: 
MTWThF 1:30pm - 2:20pm
Location: 
MUS 216
SLN: 
15229
Instructor:
kamen
Deborah Kamen

Syllabus Description:

MTWThF 1.30-2.20pm,  MUS 216

Prof. Deborah Kamen, dkamen@uw.edu

Office hours: DEN 262F, Tuesdays and Thursdays 3-4pm (and by appointment)

 

Course Description

Our focus in the Introductory Greek sequence is on ancient Greek as a literary language. You will learn to analyze and explain Greek grammar and syntax; to read and translate selections from ancient Greek authors and compose simple sentences in Greek; and to understand and explain the literary, historical, and cultural context of texts by ancient Greek authors. (Description borrowed and adapted from Prof. Catherine Connors)

 

Required Texts
 
Anne Groton, From Alpha to Omega.  Only the fourth edition should be used. This book explains Greek grammar and syntax and contains many short readings from ancient Greek authors. [AO]
 
Anne Groton and James M. May, 46 Stories in Classical Greek. This book contains (slightly adapted) selections from many ancient Greek authors. [46 Stories]
 
Free on-line Greek dictionary: http://logeion.uchicago.edu/ 

 

Grading

Homework assignments and in-class participation: 20%

Weekly quizzes: 60% [NOTE: Your lowest quiz grade will be dropped!]                 

Final exam: 20%

 

The grade for this course is based on homework assignments and in-class participation, weekly quizzes, and a final exam. Note that your lowest quiz grade will be dropped. Make-up quizzes and exams will not be given except in the case of illness, family emergency, religious observance, or university-approved absences (like athletic events). If you require special accommodations, please provide me with a letter from Disability Resources for Students (DRS) soon as possible so that we can discuss appropriate accommodations.

 

Religious Accommodations Policy

Washington state law requires that UW develop a policy for accommodation of student absences or significant hardship due to reasons of faith or conscience, or for organized religious activities. The UW’s policy, including more information about how to request an accommodation, is available at Religious Accommodations Policy. Accommodations must be requested within the first two weeks of this course using the Religious Accommodations Request form.

 

Course Schedule and Homework Assignments

Most references to the From Alpha to Omega [AO] book are to paragraph numbers (e.g. AO 110 = From Alpha to Omega paragraph 110); where paragraph numbers are not available, reference is made to page numbers. Readings in 46 Stories in Classical Greek are referred to by story number (e.g., Story 20 [46 Stories]). Homework assignments should be completed by the dates listed below; that is, the assignment listed under Tues Jan 7 should ideally be done before you come to class on Tues Jan 7. But it's always better to come to class under-prepared than not at all!

 

Week 1: AO Lessons 18-19

Mon Jan 6: In class: AO 108-109 (first aorist handout)

Tues Jan 7: Review AO 108-109; study AO 110-111 (synopsis handout)

Wed Jan 8: Study AO 112 (declension of πολ­ύς); translate AO 113 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Thurs Jan 9:  Study AO 114-116 (second aorist handout)

Fri Jan 10:  Study AO 117-118; translate AO 119 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

 

Week 2: AO Lessons 20-21

Mon Jan 13: Quiz on AO Lessons 18 and 19 (format of quiz 1). In class: AO 120-122 (perfect/pluperfect active handout)

Tues Jan 14: Study AO 123-124; translate AO 125 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Wed Jan 15: Prepare a translation of AO p. 130

Thurs Jan 16: Study AO 126-128 (τίς/τις handout)

Fri Jan 17: Study AO 129-130; translate AO 131 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

 

Week 3: AO Lesson 22

Mon Jan 20: NO CLASS: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Tues Jan 21: Quiz on AO Lessons 20-21 (format of quiz 2). In class: AO 132-133 (perfect/pluperfect middle/passive handout)

Wed Jan 22: Study AO 134-135

Thurs Jan 23: Study AO 136-137. In class: AO p. 144 (at sight)

Fri Jan 24:  Study AO 138; translate AO 139 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

 

Week 4: AO Lessons 23-24

Mon Jan 27: Study AO 140-141 (relative pronoun handout)

Tues Jan 28: Study AO 142-143; translate AO 144 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Wed Jan 29: Quiz on AO Lesson 22-23 (format of quiz 3). In class: AO 145-146 (active participles handout)

Thurs Jan 30: Study AO 147-149

Fri Jan 31: NO CLASS (Prof. Kamen has another commitment, so you get a free day!)

 

Week 5: AO Lessons 24-25

Mon Feb 3: Study AO 150-151

Tues Feb 4: Study AO 152; translate AO 153 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Wed Feb 5: Quiz on AO Lesson 24 (format of quiz 4). In class: AO 154-155 (middle/passive participles handout)

Thurs Feb 6:  Study AO 156-159

Fri Feb 7: Study AO 160-161 ( declension of μέγας); translate AO 162 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

 

Week 6: AO Lesson 26

Mon Feb 10: Quiz on AO Lessons 25 (format of quiz 5). In class: AO 163-164 (direct and indirect questions handout)

Tues Feb 11: Study AO 165

Wed Feb 12: Study AO 166-167; translate AO 168 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Thurs Feb 13: Prepare a translation of AO p. 178

Fri Feb 14: Prepare a translation of Story 24 [46 Stories]

 

Week 7: AO Lesson 27

Mon Feb 17: NO CLASS: Presidents Day

Tues Feb 18: Quiz on AO Lessons 26 (format of quiz 6). In class: AO 169-170 (aorist passive handout)

Wed Feb 19: Study AO 171-172

Thurs Feb 20: Study AO 173; translate AO 174 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Fri Feb 21: Prepare a translation of AO p. 188

 

Week 8: AO Lesson 28

Mon Feb 24: Quiz  on AO Lesson 27 (format of quiz 7). In class: AO 175-176 (future passive + οιδα handout)

Tues Feb 25: Study AO 177

Wed Feb 26: Study AO 178; translate AO 179 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Thurs Feb 27: Prepare a translation of AO p. 193

Fri Feb 28: Prepare a translation of Story 26 [46 Stories]

 

Week 9: AO Lesson 29

Mon Mar 2: Quiz on AO Lesson 28 (format of quiz 8). In class: AO 180

Tues Mar 3: Review AO 180; study AO 181 (audio explanation of forms: part I and part II)

Wed Mar 4: Study AO 182; translate AO 183 (Greek-English: odd numbers)

Thurs Mar 5: Prepare a translation of AO p. 200

Fri Mar 6: Quiz on AO Lesson 29 (format of quiz 9). In class: AO 184

 

Week 10: AO Lesson 30 [UW classes suspended]

Mon Mar 9: Study AO 185 (audio explanation) and 186 (audio explanation)

Tues Mar 10: Study AO 187; translate AO 188 (Greek-English: odd numbers) and email me your translations

Wed Mar 11: Prepare a translation of AO pp. 208-209 (if you want to check your work, I've posted a translation here)

Thurs Mar 12: Quiz on AO Lesson 30 [quiz cancelled]. Begin reviewing for final exam

Fri Mar 13: Reviewing for final exam

 

FINAL EXAM: Open note/open book take-home exam. I will email you the exam shortly before 2.30 on Mon Mar 16. You should email it back to me by 4.30. Format of final exam.

 

UW Grade Scale

Percentage Earned 

Grade-Point Equivalent

100-97

4.0

96-95

3.9

94

3.8

93-92

3.7

91

3.6

90-89

3.5

88-87

3.4

86

3.3

85

3.2

84

3.1

83

3.0

82

2.9

81

2.8

80

2.7

79

2.6

78

2.5

77

2.4

76

2.3

75

2.2

74

2.1

73

2.0

72

1.9

71

1.8

70

1.7

69

1.6

68

1.5

67

1.4

66

1.3

65

1.2

64

1.1

63

1.0

62

0.9

61

0.8

60

0.7

59 and x < 59

0.0

 

 

Catalog Description: 
An intensive study of grammar, with reading and writing of simple Attic prose. Second in a sequence of three. Prerequisite: GREEK 101. Offered: W.
GE Requirements: 
Visual, Literary, and Performing Arts (VLPA)
Credits: 
5.0
Status: 
Active
Last updated: 
October 16, 2019 - 4:00am
Share